What If?

We have been in the U.S. for over two years now.  The Lord has given us perfect peace about being here and we’ve seen many reasons why He has delayed our return to Brazil.  I find it odd that I am losing that sense of peace now that we look toward returning.

The devil bombards me with questions like, “What if one of your sons needs you?  What if something happens to your mother while you are gone?  Who will take care of your handicapped sister?  What if you can’t find affordable housing?  What if Andrew doesn’t like his new school?”  Though the devil is determined to stir up anxiety, I’m equally determined to trust Jesus no matter what.

To paraphrase a few Bible verses:  “What if a mother could forget her own child?  Though she may forget, I will never forget you!” (Is 49:15)  “What if the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed?  My love for you will never be shaken, nor My covenant of peace be removed.”(Is 54:10)

As the time for our departure approaches we can only do what we’ve always done: give Him all our doubts and questions, and trust in His unfailing love.  No matter what happens, the Lord is with us.

 

2 thoughts on “What If?

  1. Dear Hope,

    It is hard to be away when one’s parents get old. I know. I’ve been there. But, if they need you, you fly home to them. Same with your sister and your sons. Squirrel away the money, go without, eat less, whatever, so that you have the fare ready should you need to go. That will give you peace of mind. Your sons are entering manhood. It’s hard to let our sons go but we have to. God will watch over them. God knows your priority is to do His will. If it were not His will for you to go, He would block your way. If the door to Brazil stays open, then walk through it into His open arms.

    I hate to see you go. It has been a joy to have you in our community and to see your dear faces around our church but we all have our places to be and our work to do for Him. I am retiring from the hospital in June. I (Teresa) have lots of plans of my own for my retirement but I am also interested to see what plans the Lord has for me. I would like to bet that His “to do” list for me is longer than mine.

    Our Daniel came home from Spain last night to visit us for 3 weeks. What a joy that is. He has chosen to live so far away from us but he keeps in touch and he must, as an adult, make his own choices and decisions. It is my job now to keep him in prayer. I left my country to come to the USA and now I know how hard it must have been for my Mom and Dad though they never complained or tried to change my mind.

    God bless you all. I will always love you, dear friend. Teresa.

  2. May God continue to give peace with all the ‘ifs’. They are universal.. so God is able to keep that which we commit unto Him… And His peace is miraculous…
    luv and prayers
    from OKC
    Waymans

Leave a Reply

