One Life

I recently had the privilege of attending the funeral of long-time missionary Betty Ellen Cox.  Before the service there was a viewing with an open casket.  I was deeply touched to see the two items that were being buried with Miss Cox: a well-worn Bible and a lapel pin shaped like the continent of Africa.  Clearly these were the two passions of her life – love for Christ and for the people He had called her to serve.

My grandmother had a plaque in her house that read, “Just one life will soon be past.  Only what´s done for Christ will last.”  She and Betty Ellen knew the secret of laying up treasures in heaven, the secret of investing in people and activities that would bring eternal results.

I have been thinking about the things I am passionate about and asking the Lord to weed out anything that doesn´t belong.  I am determined to do more fasting this year.  NOT because I am super spiritual, but precisely because I am not.  I need the Lord to take command my appetites and fasting is one small way to give Him control of all of them.   I am grateful for the example of Betty Ellen and many other saints who have gone before me.  Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us.  (Heb 12:1)

One thought on “One Life

Leave a Reply

