Missionary Diary Entry #1

Occasionally, I will give a glimpse of “A Day in the Life of Your Missionary.” This entry from earlier this year shows how crazy busy we can be at times, but the Lord is our strength and help.

Dear Diary,

We’ve had a busy couple of weeks but things are slowing down enough to jot a few thoughts. I can’t get over how the Lord helped us every minute of every day this month (Why should I be surprised?)  In spite of the non-stop company, Dan and I found time to read and reflect on our talks for the marriage retreat in Manaus.  By the time we left Brasília on Friday I had three talks written, but only one of them translated into Portuguese. Because of our flight schedule, we were in transit most of the day and I was able to translate the second talk. Saturday morning I translated the third one. And Dan tweaked my grammar while my sister Grace and I ran errands.

That afternoon we drove an hour away from Manaus to be with fifteen wonderful couples for the weekend. The Lord helped our talks to flow and the response was excellent. We got back Sunday night in time to attend the p.m. service at Grace and Tom’s church. Monday and Tuesday were spent with family.

We arrived home in Brasília at 6 a.m. on Wednesday with time enough to unpack and do a load of laundry before I headed to the international school for my ESL classes. After school I had a long nap and headed into the kitchen to make bread and granola. Sometimes this is work, but after a busy schedule, this is THERAPY.

Thank you, Lord, for a wonderful week.

3 thoughts on “Missionary Diary Entry #1

  1. It’s good that you’ve taken time to reflect and write some of your thoughts down on paper. It’ll be even more important later when you look back and can see how God was leading you and giving you strength. 🙂

  2. And I thought I was busy! But “the joy of the Lord is your strength.” So happy for the way God is using your ministry. I’m sure He will continue to give you both the energy you need and the power for lasting fruit.

  3. God bless bless bless. It is so refreshing to hear of your activities.. all guided, enriched, and strengthened by our Heavenly Father we all serve.. WHO answers prayer !!

Leave a Reply

