The Baker and the Preacher’s Wife

bakeryFor over two years I’ve been compiling and editing a devotional book based on the sermons of John Wesley. I have often been overcome by feelings of insecurity about this project. Shouldn’t someone with a better grasp of Portuguese be doing this? What if I can’t find a publisher? What if no one reads it? What if…? What if…? And so on.

But every time I’ve been tempted to give up, the Lord has sent someone to spur me on. One week ago today I finished the first draft. Again, my insecurities kicked in and I wondered if all those hundreds of hours had been misspent. I was so unsure of myself that I didn’t even tell my husband that it was done.

That evening I popped into the neighborhood bakery to buy bread. As I chatted with the new manager, he suddenly looked me in the eye and said, “You’re the Methodist preacher’s wife, aren’t you?” When I nodded, he said, “I know a little bit about John Wesley.” I was so stunned at the direction to which our conversation had turned, that I blurted out that I’d just finished a book based on Wesley’s writings. “That’s fantastic,” he said. “I hope you’ll give me one of the first copies.”

So much for my insecurities! If God can send a random baker to encourage my heart, He can take care of all the other “What ifs?”  Praise His name!

12 thoughts on “The Baker and the Preacher’s Wife

  1. Haha! I was just reading Isobel Kuhn’s biography, “In the Arena.” I laid it down to continue with work but read your post first. These paragraphs fit perfectly with what Isobel Kuhn believed and experienced. How the Lord loves and defends you who live in obedience!

  2. That is so wonderful, Hope!

    Gordon M. Eccles
    Director of Student Financial Services
    Spring Arbor University

    Phone: 517-750-6400
    Fax: 954-827-0810
    http://www.arbor.edu

    Please complete the Business Office survey to help us serve you better.

  3. PRAISE THE LORD, HOPE! So all the prayers I’ve invested in this project with you are coming to fruition! You know, Hope, I’ve told you before, you have a gift for turning simple things into jewels of inspiration in the devotionals you write, the talks you give. May God pour out another great confirming blessing on you tonight, and I want one of the first copies, too! I’m sure there are Christian publishers in Brazil. There will be one just waiting to gobble it up! Love, appreciation and blessings! Lillian O.

  4. Amazing how God works!! Enjoyed your story Hope! Ruth P S Is your book being published in English or Portuguese? R.

    • Ruth, it will be in Portuguese. There are many books in English on Wesley’s thoughts, but almost none in Portuguese. Renew My Heart is a daily devotional in English based on Wesley’s sermons. It inspired me to try something similar in Portuguese.

  5. I am needing to trust God with some big What If’s also, and I was encouraged to remember that He so LOVES to surprise us with revealing He is always there and cares about all the details of our lives and heart-needs. Thank you.

  6. I want to read it! I’ll bake you some pao de queijo! – May I use this story in our “Resonate” bulletin inserts? I may need to edit a little to make it fit; I love that you share how God is working in your life!

    *Ginny Hannen* Director of Communications Spring Arbor Free Methodist Church 120 E Main, PO Box 399 Spring Arbor, MI 49283 517-750-2400

    On Wed, Jul 6, 2016 at 2:27 PM, Owsleys In Brazil wrote:

    > hopeinbrazil posted: “For over two years I’ve been compiling and editing a > devotional book based on the sermons of John Wesley. I have often been > overcome by feelings of insecurity about this project. Shouldn’t someone > with a better grasp of Portuguese be doing this? What if I” >

  7. Isn’t God good to keep encouraging along the way like this. What a blessing to be His and to have Him intimately acquainted with us in our ways as Scriptures say. Bless Him!

    On Sunday I had the honor to represent Wycliffe in the commissioning of one of my gals going to the Philippines. Talk about the Lord preparing the candidate for this task and using her family and her church to support her! WOW! What a blessing to be there and see how God had worked out all the details over the years to bring her to this point. I marvel at God’s power and faithfulness.

    With love,

    Jean

  8. Thanks for sharing. I still pray for you when I use the soap you gave me, and I was just praying about this project yesterday. So happy to hear the answer.

Leave a Reply

