Everlasting Splendors

I have been more than a little confused by the C.S. Lewis quote in The Weight of Glory, about the fact that we live in a society of gods and goddesses. He affirms that as we interact with each other, we are, in fact, pushing each other toward heaven or hell. “All day long we are, in some degree helping each other to one or the other of these destinations. It is in the light of these overwhelming possibilities, it is with the awe and the circumspection proper to them, that we should conduct all of our dealings with one another, all friendships, all loves, all play, all politics. There are no ordinary people. You have never talked to a mere mortal. It is immortals whom we joke with, work with, marry, snub, and exploit – immortal horrors or everlasting splendors.”

I couldn’t help thinking about this quote at a recent church retreat. As I looked around me at the men and women who were seeking God’s will for their lives, they suddenly they ceased to be “mere mortals” in my eyes, and I was overwhelmed with two truths: Each was created in the image of God and each was created to fulfill His purposes on this earth. “Gods and goddesses,” indeed! Of course, men and women are not deities to be worshipped, but as persons made in God’s image, we are to treat one another with deep love and respect, recognizing that God has a purpose for each one and that we play a small part in nudging that person towards God’s perfect plan. May we be faithful to value each person He brings across our path, and to always point them to Jesus.

7 thoughts on “Everlasting Splendors

  1. Thank you Hope for these comments. The picture above of Dan with a large group of Brazilian youth makes me jealous! I was only in Brazil for my 4 years of HS so never even had the fluency that Dan had back then, but have always loved whatever comes out of Brazil/Brasil…because of the great work of groups like the Free Methodists and so many others–who are now receiving the fruit of decades of ministry in which Brasilians are now going far and wide–I think of those I’ve met in north Thailand, but also the thousands in the tough areas of N. Africa and middle East. Keep it up–and I hope to see Dan again, before we head to glory…I’ve had some pretty profound changes in my own missiology, and that’s come via changes in my doctrines of the church, of the evil one, of the ‘last days’ but the main thing for me is “obedient nations.” …and my focus is on Asia. Lots of love to you both!

Leave a comment